The Orchestra now opens its season in New York with conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto and singer Solange Merdinian



Orchestra Now (TÅŒN), the visionary orchestra and master’s program founded by the president, conductor, educator and music historian of Bard College, begins its 2021-22 season in New York City on October 31 at Rose Theater at Jazz at Frederick P. Rose Hall in Lincoln Center. The concert features celebrity guest conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto, 2019 Conductor of the Year for Musical America and Music Director of the Orchester des Amériques and the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de México, the most important orchestra from the country. He conducts TÅŒN and mezzo-soprano Solange Merdinian in the score of the ballet El Sombrero by Tres Picos de Falla, as well as La Mer by Debussy, Le tombeau resplendissant by Messiaen and Huapango by Mexican composer José Pablo Moncayo.

TÅŒN kicked off its 2021-22 season with three shows at Bard’s Fisher Center in September and early October, including the premiere of Brahmsiana by conductor / composer Leonard Slatkin, who made his debut with TÅŒN performing works by Cindy. McTee and Mussorgsky; and musical director Leon Bostein conducting Dawson’s Negro Folk Symphony, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7, Strauss’s Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks and Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5.

The next concert in New York will take place at Carnegie Hall on November 18 and will feature violinist Gil Shaham performing the world premiere of Scott Wheeler’s Birds of America, mezzo-soprano Briana Hunter in Julia Perry’s Stabat Mater and the Bristow Symphony No.4.

Sunday October 31, 2021 at 3 p.m.
Rose Theater at Jazz at Lincoln Center

Carlos Miguel Prieto, conductor
Solange Merdinian, mezzo-soprano

Messiaen: The Resplendent Tomb
Debussy: The Sea
Falla: El Sombrero de Tres Picos (The Tricorn)
José Pablo Moncayo: Huapango

The diverse program features French, Mexican and Spanish composers, including Messiaen’s Resplendent Tomb, which he described as a type of epitaph in four main sections and was written when he was just 24 years old. The next work is Debussy’s milestone, the impressionist interpretation of La Mer (La Mer) with its three movements that he preferred to call “symphonic sketches”. Manuel de Falla’s music for the ballet El Sombrero de Tres Picos was commissioned by Sergei Diaghilev and premiered in 1919. The soloist in this work, the Armenian-American mezzo-soprano Solange Merdinian, graduated in 2009 from the art program vocal of the Bard Conservatory, and co-founder and artistic co-director of the asbl New Docta and the New Docta International Festival in Argentina. She won the 2019 Pro Musicis competition, completed a four-year Einstein on the Beach world tour with the Philip Glass Ensemble, and performed at Madison Square Garden and Carnegie Hall. The program ends with Huapango by Mexican composer / conductor José Pablo Moncayo. Moncayo was commissioned by Carlos Chávez to write a piece based on folk music from the Veracruz region. Closely associated with Mexican nationalism, the resulting piece remains one of his most popular works.

Tickets priced at $ 25 to $ 50 are available online at, by calling CenterCharge at 212.721.6500, or at the Jazz at Lincoln Center box office on Broadway & 60th, Ground Floor. Ticket holders must comply with site health and safety requirements, which can be found here.



Leave A Reply