Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Names Six Finalists


The 16th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, which runs June 2-18 in Fort Worth, Texas, has named the six finalists who will compete for its top prize of $100,000.

Hailing from Ukraine, Russia, Belarus, South Korea and the United States, the six contestants were reduced by 30 pianists chosen to compete in the competition’s live rounds via a semi-final which included a 60-minute recital and a piano concerto by Mozart.

The six finalists are:

Dmytro ChoniUkraine, 28 years oldAnna GeniusheneRussia, 31Uladzislau KhandohiBelarus, 20Yuchan LimSouth Korea, 18 years oldIlya ChmouklerRussia, 27Clayton StephensonUnited States, 23

During the final phase, each pianist will perform two piano concertos with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra conducted by Marin Alsop, who is also president of the jury this year. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Saturday, June 18.

Earlier this year, the quadrennial competition announced that it would welcome participants from Russia, despite the country’s military action in Ukraine.

In a statement, Jacques Marquis, President and CEO of the competition, said: “The Cliburn must and will remain true to its mission as a cultural institution supporting artists, and we are dedicated to the power of this art form. to transcend borders. We make no distinction between non-political artists based on nationality, gender or ethnicity. We strongly support the music community worldwide in its commitment to these ideals. The Heart of the People de Cliburn stands with the valiant Ukrainians as they bravely defend their homeland against the Russian regime.What is happening goes against everything humanity should stand for.

Over the past few months, two major piano competitions – the Honens International Piano Competition in Canada and the Dublin International Piano Competition – announced that they would not be open to Russian pianists this year. The Honens, however, subsequently re-entered its Russian competitors following protests from the global music community and a petition of great musicians against the “general boycott” of Russian artists.

For the 2022 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, the total prize money amount has been increased to $265,000, with $100,000 for gold, $50,000 for silver and $25,000 for bronze (The 2017 prizes were $50,000, $25,000, and $15,000, respectively.)

Sitting on the jury are conductor Marine Alsop, pianists Jean Efflam-Bavouzet, Alessio BaxRico Gulda, Andreas Haefliger, Wu Han, Stephen HoughAnne-Marie McDermott, Orli Shaham and Lilya Zilberstein.

Viewers around the world can watch the entire competition live and on demand at, cliburn.medici.tvand

Photo: Ukrainian pianist Dmytro Choni during the 2022 Van Cliburn semi-final © Ralph Lauer


Comments are closed.